Picture Banner for SECC K12 Site

Structure of the Atmosphere extended definition

The atmosphere has 4 layers: the troposphere that we live in near the surface of the earth; the stratosphere that houses the ozone layer; the mesosphere, a colder and lower density layer with about 0.1% of the atmosphere; and the thermosphere, the top layer, where the air is hot but very thin.

Last modified date: Monday, August 16, 2010 - 9:25am